Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

A few weeks ago, Chris and I splurged and bought ourselves a one-touch espresso machine.  We’ve had our Starbucks Barista machine for over 10 years and thought it was time to retire it.  It was a great machine but it was manual and cumbersome.  Technology has come a long way.  Now you can make a great espresso drink with a touch of a button! What used to be a 20-minute process to make a latte now only takes a couple minutes!

Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

Before we had an espresso machine, we used to brew our coffee in a French Press.  Some people used to call us coffee snobs because we used to roast our own coffee beans.  Yes, you heard it right.  We roasted our own beans.  If it didn’t stink up the house so badly, we would have continued doing it.  Anyway, I thought this recipe was a great segue into the conversation of espresso machines and our love for coffee.  Pumpkin espresso chocolate chip bread, isn’t it perfect? And a great pairing too!

Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

Print this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons of instant espresso powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of pumpkin purée
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 1/4 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips + extra to sprinkle on top

Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a 9-inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl whisk together flour, espresso powder, baking powder, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice and salt; set aside.

Using a stand or electric mixer (or mix by hand) mix together egg, sugar, vanilla extract, pumpkin purée, canola oil and sour cream.  Slowly add in the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour batter into the prepared pan and spread it evenly with a spatula.  Sprinkle the extra chocolate chips on top.  Bake for 42-47 minutes or until toothpick/tester inserted into the center comes out with a few crumbs attached.  Let the bread cool completely before cutting into the pan.

Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread
 

55 thoughts on “Pumpkin Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Wow, the addition of espresso would take this to a whole new flavor level:) I have a manual espresso maker and would love to have a one-touch! It’s amazing that technology has advanced so far.. what will be next? A friend of mine roasts his beans, in an old pot on his barbecue.. so now you can start roasting again:)

  2. This pumpkin espresso bread looks sensational! Love the combination of pumpkin, espresso and chocolate! Pinning 🙂 Would love a big slice or two for my breakfast!
    Hope you’re feeling better Anne and have a fantastic weekend 🙂

  3. Look at those chocolate chips! Talk about perfect with your afternoon coffee. I can’t believe you guys used to roast your own coffee beans – how does one even begin to do that?! I hope you are enjoying your new espresso machine…I occasionally fantasize about getting an espresso/cappuccino machine but I have no space for it and no real rational reason for getting one since we’re not coffee connoisseurs. Does this mean you will be enjoying affogatos at night with your fresh espresso? Yum! Enjoy the weekend, Anne!

  4. This pumpkin bread looks amazing! I love the addition of espresso and chocolate chips–they definitely go well with pumpkin 😀
    I find it so impressive that you roasted your own coffee beans! People at work call me a coffee snob because I used my own French press to make my coffee–I refused to pay for Folgers/Maxwell coffee at work! Now I’ve brought in my own coffee machine and keep it under my desk haha.

  5. What an amazing combo indeed. The chocolate chip addition sounds great! And homeroasted coffee beans must be wonderful indeed!
    Have a lovely weekend ;D

  6. I don’t drink coffee, but when we finally move into our house I’m going to buy a Keurig for when we have overnight guests- I can’t deprive coffee-drinkers of their morning ritual! This bread looks delicious. Pumpkin and chocolate are a winning combo 🙂

  7. Roasting coffee is pretty simple. The only downside is the smell it creates, it’s pretty intense. It’s not terrible, but it doesn’t smell like coffee 🙂 More like slightly burned popcorn.

    We got something like this back in the day: http://goo.gl/jXqs1q But there are more inexpensive options out there. The best part is that green coffee beans are incredibly cheap, and they last a long time. So if you appreciate freshly roasted beans then you can roast a week’s worth at a time and you’ll be in coffee nirvana.

  8. Yummm. My younger sister has a recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip bread that I love, which I think is really similar for this except for the espresso powder! Adding that touch of bitter coffee to this bread sounds amazingly delicious…

    (And btw, I only know this from my sister, but loaves of pumpkin chocolate chip bread freeze amazingly well—wrapped tightly in tin foil—and can last for quite a while before being defrosted in the fridge.)

  9. Friends look at me like I’m crazy when I announce my next food-related project. I think, though, roasting coffee beans is a bridge too far. Those one-touch machines are great, though, Congrats on the new addition to your counter top. 🙂 Your bread looks great, Anne. Seeing those chocolate chips in each slice makes this chocoholic’s heart skip a beat.

  10. What a gorgeous loaf of bread Anne! Love the pairing of espresso with pumpkin! Great for breakfast or anytime! I wouldn’t be able to resist snacking on this all day long.

  11. Those one-touch machines are supposed to be great – congrats on your purchase. I’ve never roasted coffee beans before, but probably should give it a try someday! Sounds like fun. anyway, superb bread. This looks like an excellent recipe – thanks so much.

  12. Another pumpkin recipe to make me super jealous for not having pumpkin puree available on our shelves! Gah! I love what a nice bright orange colour these are. And the amount of chocolate chips… perfect! The more the merrier, I say!

  13. I love my morning (and afternoon and evening) espresso but we don’t have a machine. I use a stove top percolating coffee pot. I think it does a pretty good job. Though it doesn’t work with the touch of a finger (I wish), it isn’t an involved process. I haven’t ever even considered roasting my own beans though I do grind my beans fresh each morning. 🙂 My coffee will provide even more pleasure when it is accompanied by a slice of this bread! I love the combination of flavors, Anne!

  14. Oh my gosh, I’ve recently wanted a one-touch espresso machine! I love espresso but I had this amazing cup of it while in Quebec City a few weeks ago and I can’t get it off my mind. What brand did you get? Are you happy with it? If you can’t tell, I’m a coffee nut too. Roasting beans?! I’ve never done but that’s so awesome!
    I’m obsessed with this bread. Seriously. Love the combo of pumpkin, coffee and chocolate all together in one fabulous quick bread. Sheer brilliance!

  15. You certainly made a bread with all the right flavors to go with a great espresso. So good looking Anne! I know a few who roast their own beans, it’s such a difference.

Leave a comment