Chinese Pork Sparerib and Daikon Soup

Chinese Pork Sparerib and Daikon Soup

I got this recipe from Kimi.  I enjoy it whenever the weather is a bit cool and I’m in a brothy soup kind of mood (usually when I’m feeling a cold coming on).  Chris doesn’t care for it.  He doesn’t like the smell of daikon but he’ll eat turnip cake —weird! Whenever I make this soup, I always make it for one.

Print this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 6 pieces pork sparerib, cut into 1″-2″ pieces (I go this precut, prepackaged at my local Asian market)
  • 4-5 cups of water
  • 2-3 slices of ginger, about 1/4″ thick
  • 1 small daikon, peeled, quartered and sliced about 1/2″-1″ thick (I used Korean daikon because I think it smells less potent)
  • salt to season
  • scallions, chopped
  • cilantro, chopped
  • white pepper

Preparation:

In a medium size pot, parboil your sparerib for about 5-7 minutes to remove any blood.  Dump that water out and rinse your sparerib.  This can be done ahead of time.  You can store this in a Ziploc bag and put it in your freezer.  Whenever you want to make soup, you can skip this step.

In a 2-3 quart pot, add sparerib, ginger and water.  Let it come to a bubble and turn it down to low.  Simmer for about 15-20 minutes and then put in daikon.  Simmer some more for about 1 hour or until daikon is cooked through.  Season with salt.  Ladle this into a bowl and add some white pepper.  Garnish with scallions and cilantro.

 

8 thoughts on “Chinese Pork Sparerib and Daikon Soup

  1. I love making this too! My mom makes a version of this that I can’t seem to remember how to replicate.. and my grandma-in-law makes an awesome Korean version which has no exact recipe… soo… I will try yours! so perfect because it’s starting to get cool…

    • I think the Korean version uses beef instead of pork. Either way, it’s good. The bones are really what makes the soup yummy. mmm… If you do try it, let me know how it turns out. -Anne

  2. Late last night I went out for Chinese food and almost ordered a pork soup and didn’t. Your soup looks elegant, warm, appetizing, and definitely delicious. Seems so seasoned 🙂

Leave a comment