Chili Cheese Dip

Chili Cheese Dip

I came across this recipe on the back of my chili bottle.  It was a fairly easy recipe to make and with so little ingredients so I made it over the weekend.  Although I’m not a fan of processed cheese, this was quite tasty.  My family came by and we all snacked on this dip.  My nephew LOVED it! He’s a cheese lover so what’s not to like? This dip is perfect for those casual impromptu entertaining and great for when you’re watching a game.  Bust open a bottle of beer and it’s all good!

Chili Cheese Dip

Print this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground beef
  • olive oil for cooking
  • 4 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 3/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1 (16 ounce) jar of salsa (I used sodium free salsa)
  • 1 pound of processed cheese, cubed (I used Velveeta)
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 1 scallion, finely chopped

Chili Cheese Dip

Preparation:

In a 3 quart pot, combine ground beef and a drizzle of olive oil.  Crumble and brown ground beef.  Once cooked, use a slotted spoon to transfer meat into a bowl.  Set aside.  Remove any grease left in the pot.  Dump meat back in the pot over low heat and then add in chili powder, ground cumin, garlic powder, salsa and processed cheese.  Cook until cheese melts.  At this point you can ladle this into a bowl.  Add chopped tomatoes and scallions.  Serve with tortilla chips.

Adapted from McCormick

Chili Cheese Dip
 

42 thoughts on “Chili Cheese Dip

  1. That last shot is incredible. Who’s your hand model? 😉

    This dip was soooo good. It’s hard to stop eating it even though you know it’s not terribly healthy. But once in awhile is fine. At least the salsa was sodium free!

  2. Would never have thought of using minced/ground beef in a dip! How yummy is that. Although I’d have to sub Cheddar as Velveeta isn’t available here. And do love that last photo! I wouldn’t be able to include my hands in a shot as they’re not that attractive.

  3. I, too, avoid processed cheese but this dip works for me! It would be perfect for game day or movie night, when nothing more than a tasty snack is required. Thanks, Anne, for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Texas Chili Beans | Cooking in Sens

  5. I have to make this gorgeous looking dip as it gives me an excuse to eat tortilla chips. Which just happen to be my favourite snack…EVER!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Brooklyn Farm Girl

  7. Pingback: Top 10 Best Crowd-Pleasing Dip Ideas - Top Inspired

Leave a Reply

