Guest Post: Calvados “Martini”

Calvados "Martini"

Chris came home early from work today and the first thing he did to kick off Christmas Eve was to make this lovely cocktail for us –yay Chris! πŸ™‚ If you like a strong cocktail, like a Martini with a hint of apple, you’ll love this one.Β  Cheers!

So with the holiday season upon us, I wanted to make a drink that was sophisticated yet fun.Β  Anne brought home some Calvados and I decided to try adding it into a vodka “martini”.Β  The result? Just as one would expect, it tastes like a vodka martini with an apple finish.Β  Eat the apple garnish to draw out even more apple flavor.

Note: I’m a martini purist and normally only reserve the word for the drink comprised of gin and vermouth.Β  But ’tis the season to have fun, right?

Calvados "Martini"

Print this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3 ounces of vodka (I used Grey Goose but feel free to use your favorite brand)
  • 1/2 ounce of calvados
  • 1/2 ounce of dry vermouth

Preparation:

Shake with ice and strain into a chilled martini glass. Garnish with thin slice of apple.
 

24 thoughts on “Guest Post: Calvados “Martini”

  1. This is a blast from the past for me! Not only did I drink G&T but loved dry Martini from a bottle. Guessing it must’ve been Italian. As for vodka, I used to drink a Polish drink of frozen vodka, half a slice of lemon with freshly ground coffee (from actual beans) and a little sugar – eat the lemon and c&s, knock back the vodka and wait for that rush! Sounding like a right lush!

    • Hi Johnny, thanks for the reply. One of my co-workers is from Poland and we recently had dinner at this Polish restaurant in Denver where I sampled some infused vodka; horseradish being one of them…pretty awesome. That coffee drink sounds right up my alley, I need to try to make that soon. ~Chris

  2. For those that have tried a “Green Apple Martini” and think this is similar, it’s very much not. While I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the GAM, this drink is not sweet like that candied drink. I really like the “mature” taste of this drink, and one or two will pretty much have you fully prepared for the upcoming family gatherings. πŸ˜‰

    • My darling, it is a mature drink! None of that frou-frou stuff.. πŸ˜‰ And definitely a good cocktail to ease the nerve for the family gathering that you’re dreading to attend. Hee hee.. πŸ˜€

  3. Love martinis and great pic! Grey Goose is a favorite for me as well. I am currently into a lemondrop martini phase, probably because my tree is bursting with lemons. I had a business owner talk me into trying Tito’s Vodka which, if you have not tried it, is a great vodka for the price! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your martinis!

    • My husband believes the traditional martinis are made with gin, hence the air quotes for this martini recipe. I prefer a vodka martini myself. I’ve been hearing really good feedback about Tito’s vodka, which is a corn vodka –and a really good price tag. So I will probably give that one a try. Thanks for your lovely comment and for popping over. Happy new year!

  4. The meter on the bottle of gray goose is reading almost empty. Tito’s is definitely going in the bar when it’s time to refill. I’ve heard great things too…

      • Thanks for getting a bottle! Since it’s my Friday today, I’m going to take another stab at this martini tonight and see if the Tito’s lends anything to it.

      • OK I tweaked it a little bit, and I have to say it tastes better!

        * Tito’s vodka kept in the freezer at least overnight
        * I still kept the ratio 3 oz vodka, 1/2 oz calvados, 1/2 oz dry vermouth, but I only swirled the vermouth around the glass a few times then emptied it (extra dry).
        * Shake nice and hard!

Leave a Reply

